Start Learning Japanese in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

how long did it take you to learn to sightread?

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

metablue
Expert on Something

how long did it take you to learn to sightread?

Postby metablue » April 30th, 2006 6:14 am

I memorized hiragana before learning anything else about Japanese because it seemed like the most straightforward thing to do. But I still have to read the characters one by one and sound out words. It's really frustrating.

Those who have been studying for a while ... how long did it take you to be able to glance at some Japanese text - kana and kanji - and be able to read it automatically?

Did it help to stop using romaji altogether? I started out that way. I can't remember words unless I can visualize them, so I tried visualizing the hiragana instead of the romaji. But I found I couldn't remember much vocabulary that way - it just wouldn't stick - so I started learning the romaji instead. That really helps with vocab, but not with kana reading.

How have people approached this? What worked and didn't work for you?

esp
Been Around a Bit

Postby esp » April 30th, 2006 1:54 pm

In my class we started off with just romaji and then my sensei introduced about 20 hiragana a week and then by the end of the 12 week semester nearly everything we wrote/read was in hiragana. I've done about 20 weeks of Japanese and i've been able to quite quickly read all hiragana, katakana and some kanji very quickly.

I think the best way to improve your reading speed is to write single words or small sentences in just hiragana, and also maybe just sitting and reading a hiragana chart and then testing yourself by rewriting the whole chart off the top of your head for 30min-1hr will help a lot.

Get 40% OFF
helen
Been Around a Bit

Postby helen » April 30th, 2006 2:31 pm