a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

べんきょうをします or べんきょう します

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

JockZon
Expert on Something

べんきょうをします or べんきょう します

Postby JockZon » May 1st, 2006 8:02 pm

Hello! In class I've learned that you say benkyouwo shimasu, but now I've seen benkyou shimasu.

I want to say that I've studied japanese.

Should I say
私は日本がべんきょうをしました。
or
私は日本をべんきょうしました。
Thanks for your help.

/Joakim

Brian
New in Town

Postby Brian » May 1st, 2006 11:50 pm

I think when you use the verb する with a noun the を particle becomes optional since the noun+suru combination can be treated as one verb, so you could put either
べんきょうをします。
or
べんきょうします。

私は日本をべんきょうしました。
^ Would be translated as I studied Japan
「Don't forget 語 (ご), 日本=Japan 日本語=the Japanese language」

"I studied Japanese" would be:
私は日本語を勉強しました。
watashi wa nihongo wo benkyou shimashita.

Hope that helps
頑張ってください。

http://www.guidetojapanese.org/particles2.html

Join by May 6th
Jason
JapanesePod101.com Team Member

Postby Jason » May 2nd, 2006 6:30 am

Brian wrote:I think when you use the verb する with a noun the を particle becomes optional

Not all the time. I don't know how to explain it really, but sometimes it just sounds 'wrong" without を, somestimes it sounds wrong with. 勉強をする sounds very weird to me. But so does ゲームする.
Jason
Manager of Mobile & Mac Applications

JockZon
Expert on Something

Postby JockZon » May 2nd, 2006 10:15 am

Thank you and sorry for forgetting the "Go". I know that it should be there :)

RobGillon
New in Town

Postby RobGillon » May 2nd, 2006 6:09 pm

I agree that 勉強をする sounds odd. Technically, it's right, I guess because it comes after a long "o" sound it just sounds awkward. I've always been taught that if a noun can be a verb, then just stick on する (without an を) and that's it. To me ゲームする sounds fine, but I guess a more correct version would be ゲームをする.

JockZon
Expert on Something

Postby JockZon » May 2nd, 2006 7:32 pm