a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Too old to teach?!

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

Spiderwick
Been Around a Bit

Too old to teach?!

Postby Spiderwick » April 11th, 2007 3:59 pm

I am very new to the forum, but I am hoping someone can help me with my query. I am currently an English high school teacher in England and have qualifications of a BA, MA and a PhD. Ihave been studying Japanese for a couple of months now and I am really interested in teaching in Japan. I am about to start the TEFL course which should give some extra weight to my prospects. Someone has recently told me, though, that I am too old now to apply! I'm thirty four and I think the JET scheme has certain age restritions. That said, surely it would be fine for me to apply via the TEFL web page? Also, can anyone recommend any books that will help me in my plans - something that tells me about working visas and anything else that I have to take into account!! Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks for listening

Anne

Bueller_007
Expert on Something

Re: Too old to teach?!

Postby Bueller_007 » April 11th, 2007 5:05 pm

It's generally agreed that there's not much point in getting a TEFL degree if you want to teach in Japan.

You're never to old to teach here, you're just too old for JET.

The easiest path to a visa is to get a job through a major eikaiwa and let them do the leg work. Trying to get a visa in Japan is more difficult.

Get 40% OFF
JonB
Expert on Something

Also

Postby JonB » April 12th, 2007 2:48 am

try the International Schools - I know it is not teaching Japanese people English but may offer you the best of both worlds

Spiderwick
Been Around a Bit

Postby Spiderwick » April 12th, 2007 1:07 pm