Or sign up using Facebook

Geisha

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

jkid
JapanesePod101.com Team Member

Geisha

Postby jkid » August 2nd, 2006 7:38 am

Hi Guys,
I am studying Geisha at the moment. I know there is a "western myth" that Geisha are prostitutes and that has painted Geisha in a negative light. To the best of my understanding they are merely entertainers and their role does not extend beyond that in most circumstances. I am wondering what Japanese think of Geisha?

I am also interested in any resources (films, books, sites) that you many know of to assist me in further understanding Geisha.

Thanks all.

* Edit: I posted this in the wrong section, please accept my apologies

Belton
Expert on Something

Postby Belton » August 2nd, 2006 12:23 pm

Liz Dalby's book Geisha is worth reading.
She was an American anthropologist that lived as a Geisha in Kyoto in I think the early 1980s maybe earlier.

The Sea is Watching gives a view of prostitution in a period drama. (one of Kurosawa's last projects, it was based on some of his notebooks)
(Courtesan / prostitute was a whole other "profession". Geisha had control and power in their lives that prostitutes wouldn't have. Indeed they had power that other Japanese women didn't have.)

The Geisha House (Kinji Fukasaku) is a Japanese film set in a Kyoto teahouse in the 1950's

I've just finished reading Geisha of Gion by Mineko Iwasaki. A memoir by a woman who was a geisha in the 1960's -70's Kyoto. It's very interesting.

I think perhaps that most Japanese would find Geisha as strange and other-worldly as westerners.

Get 40% OFF
jkid

Postby jkid » August 3rd, 2006 12:41 am

Thank you for the reply.

I have now picked up both books but am enjoying Geisha of Gion more. I think it is because Mineko Iwasaki was a Japanese Geisha whereas Liz Dalby was an American. I will definatly read both books and check out the films. :)

Thanks Belton-さん

Bucko
Expert on Something

Postby Bucko » August 6th, 2006 4:01 am