Or sign up using Facebook

Japanese Senior High School

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

honoraryasian
New in Town

Japanese Senior High School

Postby honoraryasian » September 13th, 2007 2:50 am

Hi all,
At the end of this year I intend to go as a exchange student to a High School in Japan.So I thought I might make a thread in which we could discuss the common features and differences in a Japanese Senior High School.
はじめまして、僕はカレブです。日本語がさいこうです。

aprichar
New in Town

Postby aprichar » October 30th, 2007 5:34 am

Hi honeraryasian,
I'm a teacher at a Japanese girls' high school, originally from the States, and I've been in Japan for about 3 years now. When I first arrived, some of the differences were shocking to me. For example, students at my school are kept to a very strict dress code; no jewelry, no makeup, only school-approved uniforms, including special socks and jackets. Sometimes, groups of teachers go walking around downtown after school to catch students who are breaking the rules (wearing makeup, usually!) The community really keeps an eye on the students too, and they don't hesitate to complain by phone or email if a student wearing my school's uniform has bad manners... such as eating sweets on the train. That being said, I've also been surprised at behavior in class, such as sleeping or chatting. It's much more accepted here than in the States! So, in some ways it's less strict here.