a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

About learning oral japanese

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

VicVega
New in Town

About learning oral japanese

Postby VicVega » May 22nd, 2009 5:26 pm

I've registered today on the site and I think it's very clear, organized and instructive.

I see a lot of japanese cinema and my only goal would be to understand what is said without english subtitles.

So with that in mind, should I only center my take on the lessons in the oral part?, or it would be faster if I also try to write and understand kanjis and kana on the other sections? (knowing that if I take the time do this, I would be much slower in advancing lessons)

That's my question, I hope I made it more or less clear. Keep up the good work.

Drabant
Been Around a Bit

Postby Drabant » May 22nd, 2009 6:59 pm

I'm a beginner as well (well, pretty much). But for some words I think they are easier to remember what they mean, when I know how they are written with kanji, and I know what the kanji means.

I also feel that reading the words in kana instead of romaji improves my pronouciation, because they don't carry the same preconceptions about pronunciation that roman characters do. But since you only want to listen, that might not be an issue.

Still, knowing how to read is good even if you just watch movies, because there is some text there as well. So learning a few kanji could be fun.

If I were you, I would use the PDFs to review. I wouldn't put a lot of effort on reading and writing, just look over the kanji and what you catch, you catch.

There is a risk however, that your interest grows. If you later realize that you do want to know how to read, you will regret not having studied it from the start.

Get 40% OFF
Belton
Expert on Something

Postby Belton » May 23rd, 2009 10:14 am

An ability to read (and actually reading!) will increase your vocabulary quicker than just aural ability alone.