Or sign up using Facebook

Help a JapanesePod101.com Crew Member!

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

jeffokita
New in Town

Help a JapanesePod101.com Crew Member!

Postby jeffokita » July 17th, 2007 9:58 am

Hello everyone,
This is Jeff Okita from the JapanesePod101.com crew! I am traveling all around Japan next week. I am currently living in Tokyo, but my last week in Japan, I plan to do a lot of traveling!

This is my itinerary

7/21 - Hiroshima (6 hours traveling time! Leaving early in the morning)
7/22 - Osaka
7/23 - Kyoto
7/24 - Kyoto
7/25 - Nara/Toba
7/26 - Climb Mt. Fuji!

One thing that I am having trouble with is accommodations! I'm looking for dirt cheap places to stay because I'm a student and I don't have that much dough to spend! Anybody know some cheap places to stay at any of these locations?

In addition, any must-see's at these places? I'm making a list of places I want to see, but it's always good to have input from people that have already been there.

Thanks so much for your help!
-Jeff Okita
Last edited by jeffokita on July 18th, 2007 2:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Belton
Expert on Something

Postby Belton » July 17th, 2007 11:44 am

Well, if you're lucky some jPodder might let you crash on their couch.

Failing that, in Kyoto, Daiya Ryokan was ok, cheap and very close to the train station.

http://www.hostelworld.com/countries/japanhostels.html
This site has listing of some of the most inexpensive places I found in Japan.

Give Rakuten a try as well.
http://travel.rakuten.co.jp/en/

I also stayed in APA annex beside the station. I think it was fairly cheap. Very small though. Nice baths on the roof.

My recommendation in Kyoto is Fushimi Inari Daisya, but it takes at least half a day.
Get up early and see Ryoanji and the Golden Temple before the tour buses get there. Also the Kiyomizudera area is worth going to. I also like the train station!