Or sign up using Facebook

How do you study Japanese?

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

kevenhuynh
Been Around a Bit

How do you study Japanese?

Postby kevenhuynh » March 4th, 2013 1:42 am

Hello Everyone,

What is your method to studying Japanese? Everyone study different so I am curious to how others study. Please share with me your studying method and I will share mine.

I started studying Japanese my first 2 years in college, but stopped because I felt that higher level japanese classes were not longer fun. I decided to study aboard in Japan for a summer because I knew it was going to be fun, but fun is an understatement. It was an experience of a lifetime(一期一会 my favorite phrase). I made many Japanese friends and even a girlfriend and this forced me to learn Japanese. They were not able to speak English so I was continuously learning Japanese everyday. The most important thing I want to note is that I made TONS of mistakes back then and I still do today, but if I was too afraid of making mistakes then I would not have spoken Japanese so much. This would have results in a less than enjoyable experience aboard and my Japanese level would not be where it is now. SO MAKE MISTAKES PEOPLE!!!! As long as you are trying no one will laugh at you.

Learning Japanese through making friends was an effective method, but there are some pros and cons. The pro is that I was able to learn Japanese in a fun way, but the con is that it was not structural. Another con is that I learned casual Japanese and not formal which can also meaning I learned incorrect Japanese. Sure it is easy to learn the formal (です ます) speech, but it is difficult for me to speak formally without switching back to casual which is rude depending on who you talk to.

Now I am using this site to retain and build my Japanese level and usually practice with my Japanese coworkers from time to time (I work for a American/Japanese company).