Introduction practice

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

lewisjarrett972354
New in Town

Introduction practice

Postby lewisjarrett972354 » June 9th, 2012 1:45 pm

こんにちわ!
Hello, I am Lewis from England.
I wasn't too sure whether to comment on someone else's introduction post in case it was rude so I decided to make a new one.
I have attempted to make a brief introductory (kind of) paragraph in hiragana and would like some help in corrections please, I have been learning solo for about a week.
Although this may seem a bit ambitious, I am hoping to take Japanese for GCSE! So I would be very grateful if any assistance is offered.
This is my first time attempting a full paragraph in hiragana as I have just stuck with Romanji so far.
Hope it's okay. :D

こんにちわ。
わたしはLewisです, 15ですといぎりすぢんです。
たのじょはさんがつよかです。
いえごをはなします, でもにほんごもわかります, がゆくりはなしておねがいします!
おやはにほんごをはなしません。
わたしはせいぶつとかがくがすきです。
みどりがだいすきです。
さくじつ, ひこうきでにほんにでました。
とうきょうのくこうはとてもいそがしかつた。
わたしはにほんもういきたい!

And now in English, if it helps:
Hello, I am Lewis. I am 15 years old and from England. My birthday is on the 4th of March. I speak English but I also understand Japanese – but speak slowly please! My parents don’t speak Japanese. I like biology and chemistry. I love the colour green. Yesterday, I left Japan by plane. Tokyo airport was very busy. I want to go again!

Thank you. :) I love japanesepod101! <3

From Lewis. :)

ericf
Expert on Something

Postby ericf » June 10th, 2012 11:46 am

こんにちは、ルイスさん。

That's a pretty good start! I'm so glad you used hiragana not romaji - hate that :-)
Here's a few corrections (I guess many were just simple slips anyway):

こんにち
わたしはLewisで15さいいぎりすんです。
たのじょうびはさんがつよかです。
えいごをはなしますでもにほんごもわかります。がゆくりはなしておねがいします!
おやはにほんごをはなしません。
わたしはせいぶつとかがくがすきです。
みどりがだいすきです。
さくじつ、ひこうきでにほんでました。
とうきょうのくこうはとてもいそがしかつたです
わたしはまたにほんいきたいです

And maybe a bit of explanation of the changes wouldn't go amiss.