Start Learning Japanese in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Could someone check my letter for major mistakes?

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

Bissen
Been Around a Bit

Could someone check my letter for major mistakes?

Postby Bissen » March 15th, 2011 5:25 pm

Hi JPod'ers!

First off, ALL my compassion for those involved in the quake/tsunami/nuclear meltdown in one way or the other. It's horrible...
Because of all this happening to Japan, I'm in the middle of writing a letter for people I met there; some of which live in Tokyo.

If anyone could correct major mistakes (mainly those that are WRONG or misleading - I'm only human, and they know I'm not very good at Japanese; that I've only learned it on my own), so I'm sure they won't mind mistakes - in fact they may think it's a little funny ^^

Anyways, I'll give you the Japanese and the English translation. I practically know no kanji, so the letter will be all kana.

Japanese:
れいこさん、しんじさん、ひさしぶり!おげきですか?
reikosan, shinjisan, it's been a while. Are you okay?

さっきのじしんとつなみはたいへんですね!しんぱいです!きゅうしゅうはたいへんあことがあってないんでしょう?
It's horrible about the recent earthquake and tsunami! I'm worried! I guess nothing terrible has happened in Kyuushuu, right?

とうきょうにすんでいますのじゅんこさんはだいじょうぶかな?けがをしなかったらいい。。。
I wonder if Junkosan in Tokyo is alright. I hope she's not hurt.

わたしはまあまあ。いま、がっこうのせんせいのしごとをしています。おかねをためようとしているんですけど、いきなりうまのあしはわるくなったから じゅういのかんじょうしょうは はらいしなければならないですね。うまのなまえはビッセンといいます。ビッセンはよくないのでかなしいです。はやくよくなるのぞみます!
I am so-so. At the moment I work as a school teacher. I want to save up money, but my horse suddenly hurt its hooves, so I have to pay the veterinary bill. My horse's name is Bissen. I'm sad that she isn't feeling good. I hope she will get better soon.

おとうさんもあっまりよくありません。からだがよわくてちからがありません。おいしゃはりゆうがわからないーせつめいができません。かわいそうなビッセンとおとうさん。ふたりのことがしんぱいです!