Or sign up using Facebook

What am I missing in this sentence?

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

mewes6190
Expert on Something

What am I missing in this sentence?

Postby mewes6190 » April 3rd, 2017 5:44 am

皆さん、こんにちは。

At first, let me reintroduce myself. I studied pretty hard and was quit active on these forums a couple of years ago, before I had to take a pretty long hiatus.
Anyway, now I'm back at studying and trying to get a firm grip on an N4~N3 Level. For that, I'm trying to daily read one or two articles on the News Web Easy Website.
So, yesterday I tried this article:
http://www3.nhk.or.jp/news/easy/k10010923011000/k10010923011000.html

and while I pretty much understood the whole article, I can't get the exact meaning of the last sentence, because I can't exactly get the meaning of the quote. Maybe somebody can help?
The whole sentence is: "お母さんは「息子が生きていた証明をもらうことができました」と言いました。"

Now, the quote gives me headaches, 'cause somehow it seems to be missing something. 息子が生きていた証明をもらうことができました to me translates roughly as "When my son had been alive, certificate could have received", but that doesn't make sense. Does his mother WISH, he COULD have received the certificate while still alive (which would make sense to me)? And if so, where would I get the "wishing"-part from?

I'm glad for any help or suggestion. :D

また、
くろくま
Last edited by mewes6190 on April 3rd, 2017 8:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

thegooseking
Expert on Something

Re: What am I missing in this sentence?

Postby thegooseking » April 3rd, 2017 7:34 am

くろくまさん、お久しぶりですね。

I don't really get it myself, but I'm leaning towards reading it as "I was able to get proof that my son had been alive". Not proof in the sense that there was ever any doubt or anything, but, reading between the lines, in the sense that she's comforted to have a tangible memento of it. Like, she's glad that there is evidence of what he did in his life.