Or sign up using Facebook

Go home, verb. You're drunk.

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

jim.schuler
Established Presence

Go home, verb. You're drunk.

Postby jim.schuler » July 21st, 2015 5:27 am

Yoroshiku onegaishimasu.

I am an almost complete beginner with Japanese, having recently reached lesson 51 in beginner season 1. To measure my progress, I like to spend some time seeing what I can translate from whatever ear bug anime has inflicted on me at the moment. Since the words won't leave my head anyway, I figure it's a good way to build vocabulary and maybe some grammar.

At issue is the following:

kokoro wo nurashita ame hitoshi zuku hikari ni tokete
itami ni furueru tsubasa mo chiisa na ai wo mamoru no

The kanji, if the romanji from animelyrics.com isn't clear enough:
心を濡らした雨
ひとしずく光にとけて
痛みにふるえる翼も
小さな愛を守るの

This is from Tsubasa wa Pleasure Line, the opening to Chrono Crusade. The entire stanza is for context, and the bold is where I'm scratching my head.

If I have this correct, the most literal translation of the last two lines is "wings that shiver in pain also protect a small love."

My question is: what the heck is "furueru" doing? Hasn't it learned Japanese? It's supposed to go at the end of the sentence. Instead, it's rudely cutting in front of tsubasa. It doesn't even have the decency to use a weird form so I can attribute this to some grammatical ninjutsu. Is this valid, or is this poetic license?

If I was going to recreate that on my own without musical consideration, I would (limiting myself to the formal for now) come up with "Tsubasa wa itami ni furuerte arimasu," which I think is "Wings that are shivering in pain." Is this in any way correct? And then how would it link up to the rest? Can "mo chiisana..." follow right on it, do I have to do something to "arimasu" for that to work, or is something more drastic needed?

mmmason8967
Expert on Something

Re: Go home, verb. You're drunk.

Postby mmmason8967 » July 21st, 2015 9:47 pm