a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Looking for structured learning program

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

sciroccojunky_503964
New in Town

Looking for structured learning program

Postby sciroccojunky_503964 » January 22nd, 2015 6:57 pm

Hi, been using your podcasts and whatnot for about 5 months now. Almost done with absolute beginner season 2. Been poking around at the writing side and it seems confusing. Doesn't seem to be laid out as simple as the verbal podcast type lessons. Now my speaking level is passable but writing is not even kindergarten level. is there a plan available that has both verbal and written in tandem? Lesson notes even for the absolute beginner entry 1 seems to assume that you can read it. Looking for some guidance on having both verbal and written at the same time. Even if I have to go back and start over, want to get a better handle on it.

Ideas?

thanks.

mmmason8967
Expert on Something

Re: Looking for structured learning program

Postby mmmason8967 » January 22nd, 2015 10:34 pm

In my opinion the best way to get started with writing in Japanese is to learn to write hiragana and katakana properly. JPod101 has a very good video series called Kantan Kana here: http://www.japanesepod101.com/index.php?cat=47. There are 25 short videos in the series: you can work through them and it's not at all difficult to learn the kana over a single weekend.