Or sign up using Facebook

Having trouble repeating sentences

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

watertommyz9255
Been Around a Bit

Having trouble repeating sentences

Postby watertommyz9255 » February 2nd, 2014 6:20 am

Hello!

I've come across bit of a problem, and I seem to do fine listening to the language, and I'm able to repeat small words or very simple phrases, but when it comes to a full sentence full of new words I don't know, I just get flustered, and I can't get the pronounciation down. Is there any advice for imporving this, or is it going to come down to practice?

Should I try each word individually first, and then attempt saying the sentence? Thanks in advance!

community.japanese
Expert on Something

Re: Having trouble repeating sentences

Postby community.japanese » February 2nd, 2014 9:18 am

watertommyz9255-san,
kon'nichiwa! :D

I think I know what exactly you mean.
I often have the same problem with languages I'm studying.

It is totally okay to speak slowly at the beginning, even breaking the sentence down to
word basis. I'm not too sure which level you're in, but assuming you're really at the beginning of
learning Japanese, I've got a recommendation. Let's take the simple short sentence as an example:
watashi wa nihon-jin desu. (= I'm Japanese).
You can pronunciate each words, right? To say this sentence fluently, first try:
"des" (unstead of pronouncing "su" properly, drop "u") three times.
Then,
"jin des" three times.
Then,
"nihon-jin des" three times.
Now,
"watashi wa" (pause) "nihon-jin des" three times.
If you got used to repeat this, finally, without any pause but slowly,
"watashi wa nihon-jin des".

After that, just try a bit faster until it sounds like a natural speed.

The point here is to practice repeating the part of the sentences, making it longer and longer.
Try not to separate particles, though. This means, "watashi wa" needs to be practiced together
never "wa nihon-jin des".