a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

what is the best learning way during watching anime or japan

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

Abdulmalikalghamdi7458
New in Town

what is the best learning way during watching anime or japan

Postby Abdulmalikalghamdi7458 » January 19th, 2014 2:47 am

Because I love japanese anime I intend to add watching japanese anime as an extra way to learn japanese but I need advice what is the better as you see for me as absolute beginner when or during watching the move
do I have to see the anime or move without subtitle?
or add english subtitle which I can understand ? or add japanese subtitle ? :?:

Thanks for the wonderful site japanesepod1010 :mrgreen:

community.japanese
Expert on Something

Re: what is the best learning way during watching anime or j

Postby community.japanese » January 20th, 2014 6:43 am

Abdulmalikalghamdi7458-san,
using the real materials like anime or movies is always a fun way to learn language and brush up your listening
skills! :D The only concern regarding Japanese is that colloquial language is very different from the "corrrect textbook
language" which we always have to learn at the beginning (in any language).
So, choosing the easy one (as a start) would be a clever thing to do anyway.

Using subtitles or not is a matter of level-appropriate approach.
If you're a beginner, I'd recommend you to use subtitles in a effective way, more often than upper level
learners. I also used movies, TV shows and dramas, and so on when I learned English (and I'm continue
using it). At the beginning, I watched the same story many times; with and without subtitles.
Many people try first to watch without subtitles, but I didn't find this method very effective for beginner level.
Instead, first use subtitle (or could be even doubled/overvoiced). Knowing the story more or less, try
without aid. This way, you can focus more on "what they say in Japanese" and "how they say in this situation