a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Da yo ??

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

drone
New in Town

Da yo ??

Postby drone » June 3rd, 2006 5:06 pm

Im new to Japan, And am trying to learn the language.
My Japanese girlfriend says "da yo" alot.

She says it has no meaning...but its driving me crazy!!
It must mean something... She is having trouble explaining it to me.

If anyone can explain this to me...would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

metablue
Expert on Something

Postby metablue » June 3rd, 2006 5:50 pm

da is a casual form of "desu" - "to be". Like "is".
yo is a particle that you put at the end of a sentence when you're telling someone something you think they don't know. ie giving them information.

eg.
Tenki ga warui da. = The weather is bad.
Tenki ga warui da yo. = The weather is bad. (You mustn't realize that otherwise you wouldn't be heading out without an umbrella. Better take one!)

Your gf might just say it habitually though. Like some people say "you know" a lot.
"It's raining outside, you know!"

<edit>
Now that I think about it, the one Japanese person I know never uses "da" by itself. He uses "dayo" (we type our conversations and that's how he spells it) when he says something out of the blue. Otherwise he leaves it off altogether.

eg
nemui dayo~ (that's meant to be a tilde. I'm sleeepyy!)
or sometimes just
nemui~ (nemuiiiiii = I'm sleeepyy)
but usually he only leaves the "dayo" off if we're already talking about how we want to go home.

Get 40% OFF Forever Discount
Jason
JapanesePod101.com Team Member

Postby Jason » June 3rd, 2006 10:03 pm

metablue wrote:Tenki ga warui da...etc

You can't use "da" with i-adjectives.
Jason
Manager of Mobile & Mac Applications

metablue
Expert on Something

Postby metablue » June 4th, 2006 3:51 am

No wonder it sounded a bit weird! I mustn't have heard it before. You would just leave it off altogether, or is there another desu variant?

Bueller_007
Expert on Something