a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Looking to Study Japanese in Japan

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

keiron
New in Town

Looking to Study Japanese in Japan

Postby keiron » May 24th, 2007 7:47 pm

Hi everyone! My names Keiron, 21, from Nottingham in the UK.
I would like to revisit Japan but this time not for a holiday but to study Japanese language. I really like Japan and Japanese culture and I am 100% serious about doing all of this but i am not sure how to get started.
Is there any future prospects for me out there? Could i possibly end up teaching English if i advanced my Japanese learning out there? I understand that this does not happen "overnight" but i'm willing to go all the way. I have a good record of work experience and i am a college student at the moment studying Music Tehcnology. My tutor says i will have no problem with my UCAS application for starting the degree next year. So that could be another advantage to me getting an English teaching job in Japan maybe..?
Please could somebody point me in the right direction because there does not seem to be any form of help where i live :(

I apologise if this all looks a little crazy, i'm just full of inspiration after learning from this Japanese pod and my Skype penpals who i practise speaking Japanese with. :oops:

padrik
Established Presence

Postby padrik » May 24th, 2007 11:55 pm

There are Japanese language schools all over Japan, a lot being in the Tokyo area, but they are all over. I went to one a while back in Okazaki Japan, much more rural, but close enough to Nagoya, another big city. First you want to find/choose a school probably, and they will have info on requirements, Visa, etc.. I went to http://www.yamasa.org

To teach English in Japan, you honestly don't need any Japanese skill at all. A lot of the teaching companies actually forbid that you use any Japanese in class. To look at various teaching opportunities to get an idea, check out:
http://www.gaijinpot.com/