Or sign up using Facebook

Good literature in Japanese online?

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

danparvus_502651
Been Around a Bit

Good literature in Japanese online?

Postby danparvus_502651 » February 17th, 2015 4:12 pm

おはよう 皆さん

Can anyone recommend online book recommendations for absolute beginners in Japanese?

I have been through:
Absolute Beginner Seasons 1 and 2, and Newbie Seasons 1, 2, and part of 3. But I am itching to get into some literature. Not Anime, Cartoons, or newspapers so much as books. Perhaps readers aimed at elementary grade school kids.

In Newbie Season 3 Naomieさん mentioned Botchan by Natsume Soseki. Rebeccaさん also mentioned "Kokoro" and "I am a Cat". Are any of these texts available online for free? Would this be a good place to start, or is this the equivalent of learning English from Shakespeare? :) I am probably looking for something more along the lines of "See Spot Run". Still, I would appreciate having a variety of online literature to choose from and would possibly purchase books if people recommended them highly.

どうもありがとうございました
ダニエル

mmmason8967
Expert on Something

Re: Good literature in Japanese online?

Postby mmmason8967 » February 17th, 2015 11:34 pm

ダニエルさん wrote:I am itching to get into some literature. Not Anime, Cartoons, or newspapers so much as books. Perhaps readers aimed at elementary grade school kids.

Me too. My long-term ultimate aim is to read 源氏物語, Genji Monogatari, which was written by Murasaki Shikibu almost exactly 1,000 years ago and is widely acknowledged as the first true novel ever written. I still have a way to go, though...

Can anyone recommend online book recommendations for absolute beginners in Japanese?