Start Learning Japanese in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Japanese Portable Dictionary Recommendations?

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

JackiJinx
New in Town

Japanese Portable Dictionary Recommendations?

Postby JackiJinx » September 12th, 2010 2:17 pm

皆さん こんにちは~

My name is Jacki and I'm an intermediate student that already owns a good ton of Japanese books, including (but not limited to) the first Heisig book (it's what I started on), The Kodansha Kanji Learner's Dictionary, particle dictionary, etc. What I don't possess is an adequate vocabulary dictionary other than a pocket one (Oxford Japanese-English dictionary). As the topic title implies, I'm looking for one.

As I have stated, I am a student, and although I'm currently under two jobs, I'm also saving money for an apartment, so I can not splurge on something super luxurious. However, if it is better in the long run, I am willing to save money on an electronic dictionary or other portable electronic device (currently, I possess just a regular cell phone, nothing fancy beyond that) that satisfies a larger vocabulary need.

In regards to electronic recommendations: I understand if people feel inclined to say get an iPhone/iPad/iTouch, and I must say that the only one of those three I'd be willing to buy is the iTouch. That said, if that's what you feel is best for my situation, please provide a list of dictionary apps/what-have-you that would be beneficial or at least a link to another source that would help me out in this specific instance. Please do not link to another thread that lists any and all Japanese apps as that is not what I'm looking for, even if the best intentions are there.

If I sound picky, I am, but I know what I need and I hope that someone here is able to help my picky arse out :)

Belton
Expert on Something

Postby Belton » September 12th, 2010 8:43 pm

I recommend electronic over paper. For size weight and ease of search.