Start Learning Japanese in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Should I Buy Books for Kanji, Kana or HIrigana First???

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

williamst4334
New in Town

Should I Buy Books for Kanji, Kana or HIrigana First???

Postby williamst4334 » June 3rd, 2010 8:56 pm

Simple question: I'm currently using romaji to learn Japanese. I'm an absolute newbie. To move to reading/writing, should I start with kana or the kanji? Or the hiragana...? The general internet is no help as I've read opinions are pretty much split down the middle. Surely, there must be a true answer.

Why shouldn't I study them together? I suppose if I knew what the kanji is for and what the kana is for, that might help me determine as well.

Pleaes also see my other recent post: From Romaji to Kana/Kanji

Thanks!

dark_angel29977
New in Town

Postby dark_angel29977 » June 4th, 2010 2:53 pm

At the very least, learn the kana. Learn Hiragana first, and then move on to Katakana. Kanji you can learn as you go, but if you know Hiragana technically you can write anything in Japanese. (It will look like you're a kindergartner, but at least you're writing Japanese :D). I recommend getting rid of romaji as soon as possible. You don't have to study Kanji if your sole focus is upon speaking Japanese, but learning them does help a lot as you go along for reading/writing, and as you progress they are pretty important just because of all the homophones in the language.

Personally, I use the textbook Genki which I find to be pretty solid for self-study. Learn the Hiragana and then begin using it (It does supplement with a bit of romaji, but it'll quickly move to just Hiragana/Kanji). I like the way it introduces a few kanji for each of the later lessons, although it seems a bit random at times which Kanji are in the lesson. It has really good explanations for grammar points :)

Join by May 6th
Imparatus
New in Town