Start Learning Japanese in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Game Imports - Final Fantasy XIII (good idea?)

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

Laver2k
New in Town

Game Imports - Final Fantasy XIII (good idea?)

Postby Laver2k » December 18th, 2009 10:16 am

Hey all!
Ive been learning Japanese for a couple of years now and Ive been to Japan (and although didnt understand a lot of things, I could at least could express myself when I needed to).

Im thinking about importing the game Final Fantasy XIII from Japan. Its very story-heavy but has Japanese subtitles too. Obviously you cant guess my level of understanding, but are games a good way to learn Japanese? I watch a lot of Japanese TV and Films and am able to follow them a fair bit (though they mostly have English subtitles so I can cheat).

What are peoples experiences with importing video games to learn from?

Jessi
JapanesePod101.com Team Member

Postby Jessi » December 18th, 2009 11:11 am

Hi Laver2k!

You might want to take a look at this thread about learning Japanese for playing video games:

http://www.japanesepod101.com/forum/vie ... php?t=4148

Read through that thread, I think you'll find some good advice and tips in there!
♪ JapanesePod101.com ♪ 好評配信中!
Leave us a message in the forum if you have any comments, questions, or feedback!

Join by May 6th
amost
Been Around a Bit

Re: Game Imports - Final Fantasy XIII (good idea?)

Postby amost » December 18th, 2009 1:47 pm

Laver2k wrote:Hey all!
Ive been learning Japanese for a couple of years now and Ive been to Japan (and although didnt understand a lot of things, I could at least could express myself when I needed to).