a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Learning Kanji

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

exDragon
New in Town

Learning Kanji

Postby exDragon » September 17th, 2009 4:51 pm

Hajimemashite, exDragon desu. Dozo yoroshiku. I have just started out here and I'm wondering how should I start learning the kanji. I don't know how to compare the dialogue in kanji to the translation. Also how come the pronounciations of the words sound different from them being said at normal speed.

GiaAnaniah
New in Town

Postby GiaAnaniah » September 18th, 2009 8:17 am

I SECOND THIS QUESTION.
im a noob and i have no idea
where to start learning kanji. XD

Get 40% OFF
untmdsprt
Expert on Something

Postby untmdsprt » September 18th, 2009 8:31 am

Personally I would start with the vocabulary you already know and learn its kanji. What good is learning kanji for words you don't understand? This will reinforce what you do know and then you can move on to new words.

Second, if you are planning to take the JLPT, see what kanji you need to learn for your level. That would be another goal to set.

Lastly, find the correct stroke order in which to write the kanji, get a notebook, and then write each one over and over. I usually write kanji about 80 times each just to get in the habit of doing it. You remember your days in grade school and the teacher made you write out each word 20 times? Same thing!

@exDragon - What do you mean about pronunciations? The words are said so that you hear how they're normally pronounced, then said slowly so you can hear each syallble. "ashita" is said like "ashta" normally but "a shi ta" slowly. Is this what you mean?

Javizy
Expert on Something

Postby Javizy » September 18th, 2009 12:22 pm