Or sign up using Facebook

Anyone used Nakama?

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

swiftman
Been Around a Bit

Anyone used Nakama?

Postby swiftman » May 11th, 2007 10:17 am

Hi,

Im new to this forum but I hope to be using this site often.

I just got a textbook/workbook called "Nakama I"

I got it to prep before I take the Japanese courses at my university, basically to get a head start prior to the fall.

Does anyone have any experience with this book?

Tom
Established Presence

Postby Tom » May 11th, 2007 1:59 pm

My introductory class used this book exclusively. My intermediate class used Nakama II exclusively as well. I personally like the series, but I have a few friends who really dislike it, so I can't say how much success you'll have with it. I'm currently studying in Japan with folks from other countries who presumably used other textbooks, and I feel like it prepared me well enough.
By the way, I made it to Japan

Get 40% OFF
untmdsprt
Expert on Something

Postby untmdsprt » May 14th, 2007 12:16 am

I actually liked the book. I still have my copy from when I went to college. Maybe one day I will get it back out again.

asahi_nysurf
Been Around a Bit

Postby asahi_nysurf » May 24th, 2007 9:00 am

ya i used I & II. It's an okay book

swiftman
Been Around a Bit

Postby swiftman » May 24th, 2007 9:26 am

do you guys think that you need directed instruction to learn out of it? or can someone just teach themselves using it?

I got Nakama I to, as I stated, learn this summer, but I haven't begun going through it yet. So I wonder if it is an easy to use, self-study book as well.

I am hoping to test into a higher level language class in the fall as opposed to the introductory course.