Or sign up using Facebook

Kanji practice recommendations

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

gaghl641295
Been Around a Bit

Kanji practice recommendations

Postby gaghl641295 » May 13th, 2013 11:27 pm

Hi
Right now i'm studying the old level 4 kanji in preperation to take the N5 in december.
I was wondering if it would be better to learn the kun/on readings or just to learn the meaning of the kanji.
ありがとう ございました :D

mmmason8967
Expert on Something

Re: Kanji practice recommendations

Postby mmmason8967 » May 15th, 2013 6:46 am

As far as I know, the N5 test expects you to be able to read Japanese using something like 80 - 100 of the most common kanji. I don't think it tests your knowledge of kanji readings. So, in answer to your question, I guess that means that it's better to focus on the meanings.

マイケル

Get 40% OFF
community.japanese
Expert on Something

Postby community.japanese » May 15th, 2013 2:26 pm

gaghl641295-san, マイケルsan,
kon'nichiwa :D
Like マイケルsan said, N5 expects you already some kanji knowledge.
I think they have questions for kanji readings; to choose the right reading for kanji.
If so, you might need to know the readings, as well as the meanings.

Please check our N5 preparation lessons and also JLPT website where trial tests are available for all the levels.
For instance, this is for N5:
http://www.jlpt.jp/samples/n5.html

Hope it helps! :wink: :flower:

Natsuko(奈津子),
Team JapanesePod101.com

btmfirewing22714
New in Town

Postby btmfirewing22714 » January 25th, 2014 2:47 am

こさんにち は みなさん,

Thought I'd share what has been very helpful for my learning kanji.