Or sign up using Facebook

Japanese Readers

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

ehimevicky
New in Town

Japanese Readers

Postby ehimevicky » October 28th, 2009 5:41 am

Hi!
I'm currently studying for the JLPT level 3 so at the moment all my study time is taken up with drills and past papers. After the exam though I'd really like to get some Japanese readers appropriate for my level. Can anyone suggest some good ones, preferably available on Amazon.co.jp.
Thanks!

Taurus
Expert on Something

Postby Taurus » October 28th, 2009 6:54 am

I like this one. If you're looking to go systematically from JLPT 3 to 2, then I'm not sure how useful it is, because it contains a lot of redundant old words and constructions (I probably won't have much need for words like 'straw boots', or 'ship's mast' in my daily life, for example).

But if you're looking to broaden your exposure to real Japanese, I think it's excellent, because it contains actual classics of Japanese literature. It has been difficult going for me because of the amount of new vocab, but I've just been putting anything I don't understand (ie. almost all of it) into Anki and then re-reading stuff, and now I can read about half of it without any problem. Also, you can download an audio version that I listen to while out jogging.

If you want an easier approach that ties in more neatly to JLPT levels, then you could try these (if my link works...).

Get 40% OFF
Javizy
Expert on Something

Postby Javizy » October 28th, 2009 12:50 pm

You could also try checking out some manga that you might find interesting. The speech bubble format means you're never exposed to too much language at once, so it's a great way to start getting exposure to real Japanese, even if you're not at a very high level. I also find myself picking up a manga when I get a spare moment to read, whereas books still seem like a lot of effort, so I won't bother unless I'm really motivated to read Japanese.