Start Learning Japanese in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Want to learn Japanese , where to even begin!?

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

isaacson4175
New in Town

Want to learn Japanese , where to even begin!?

Postby isaacson4175 » January 6th, 2014 10:23 pm

Hey everyone!

I want to learn how to speak , read and write Japanese, but I don't even know where to start.

I have watched a few video's but i am feeling a bit lost.....what lessons should I start with and where too after I have finished the "beginner" lessons?

I am a native English speaker and that is the only language I can speak fluently, I have never tried studying another language, is it possible for me to become fluent? if so how long? I am under no time pressure, I want to do this purely for the fun of it and my interest in Japanese culture....but how long will it take just so i can get an idea.

I have ZERO knowledge of Japanese language. So my level is : Newborn.

Thanks for the help!:)

peterm
New in Town

Re: Want to learn Japanese , where to even begin!?

Postby peterm » January 8th, 2014 5:36 pm

MMMason8967 previously posted the following extremely useful guide which may help you or others:

"The lessons on JapanesePod101 do not follow an obvious sequence such as Lesson #1, Lesson #2, and so on. New students often find it difficult to work out where they should start. Hopefully this short summary will remove some of the confusion.

Overview
JapanesePod101 is based around audio lessons that generally last around ten to fifteen minutes. Lessons are grouped into seasons (explained below) and are categorised by Level (also explained below).

Each lesson has a variety of supporting materials including Lesson Notes and Lesson Notes Lite. These PDF files contain exactly the same information: use Lesson Notes Lite if your PDF reader won't display Lesson Notes correctly.

Levels