Start Learning Japanese in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Favorite Japanese Foods? I want to find new ones to try!

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

MegletOnRye
New in Town

Favorite Japanese Foods? I want to find new ones to try!

Postby MegletOnRye » February 6th, 2008 9:07 pm

Osu minna-san! :D

I am a Japanese food-a-holic! I want to share a few of my favorite Japanese foods but would you all mind sharing yours too? I always want to find new foods to experience!

Here are some of my favorites:

- Sushi (of course! I am a true American though, I like california rolls!)
- Okonomiyaki (I can't wait to visit an Okinomiyaki restaurant in Japan, the kind where you can make your own)
- Onigiri (so simple yet so delicious! I can't make them, mine always turn out funny shaped.)
- Curry Rice/(kari raisu?) (I got to eat this a lot when I was in Okinawa as an exchange student, I can hardly find it here in the US.)
- Donburi (rice bowl dish! I love Oyakodon & Unagidon the best)
- ShabuShabu (swish swish! I only got to eat this once but I loved it)
- Sukiyaki (another hot pot type food, really really good!)
- Udon, Ramen & Soba (noodles, I can't stay away from them, Zaru Soba is great for the summer!)

Thats all I can think of right now. I love trying new things so I'm eager to get fresh recommendations. Anyone have any favorites they can share? :)

Psy
Expert on Something

Postby Psy » February 6th, 2008 9:54 pm

So as not to repeat what you wrote:
  • oden -- fabulous, especially if you can get it with those little tofu pouches containing mochi.
  • chawan-mushi -- I'm told it's strange for a gaijin to like this one, but it's an egg custard that for me was love-at-first-bite.
  • onigiri-sembei -- not a meal but a favorite snack cracker that you can buy almost anywhere in Japan, but I've found quite hard to come by in my small corner of the US.