Or sign up using Facebook

hiking in the Japanese wilderness

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

digitaljo
Been Around a Bit

hiking in the Japanese wilderness

Postby digitaljo » June 12th, 2006 6:42 am

I love the outdoors! I love to hike eventhough I am just a novice at it. :P
Has anyone hiked in Japan? Please share your stories, insights, dates, times, length. My main question is how did you get into the wilderness? Especially those people who don't want to drive in Japan. Are there buses that go to certain places? Are there good places for a day hike? Any interesting trails you've been on? Pictures would really help!
教えてください。よろしくおねがいします。(oshiete kudasai. yoroshiku onegaishimasu.)

Bueller_007
Expert on Something

Re: hiking in the Japanese wilderness

Postby Bueller_007 » June 12th, 2006 11:41 am

digitaljo wrote:I love the outdoors! I love to hike eventhough I am just a novice at it. :P
Has anyone hiked in Japan? Please share your stories, insights, dates, times, length. My main question is how did you get into the wilderness? Especially those people who don't want to drive in Japan. Are there buses that go to certain places? Are there good places for a day hike? Any interesting trails you've been on? Pictures would really help!
教えてください。よろしくおねがいします。(oshiete kudasai. yoroshiku onegaishimasu.)

I 've been hiking all over Japan:

Yakushima Traversal (3 days)
Aso-san Crater & other hikes in the Aso caldera
Yufuin-dake
Itsuku-shima
LOADS of day hikes in Kinki
Traversal of the Northern Alps (Tateyama->Kamikochi, 6 days)
Fuji-san
Kamakura
Niseko
Meakan-dake
Shiretoko Traversal (2 days)

Probably forgetting some...

Getting to and from the hikes was absolutely simple. There's public transportation to and from most of them, although it tends to be expensive, because the buses often run empty. (So some bus routes, like the one to the base of the Aso-san trek have closed. Had to take a taxi for that one.)