a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Tokyo to Osaka travel question...

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

Ha_chan
New in Town

Tokyo to Osaka travel question...

Postby Ha_chan » November 7th, 2007 9:22 pm

Hey, I'm going to Osaka next year around the end of March. Yay! However... I have a free frequent flyer mile ticket to the Narita airport...I'm not going to pass down a free ticket.
I need to get to Osaka...whats the best way to get from Tokyo to Osaka ? Plane, train ?

I'm a student exchange student so I'd prefer it also be the one that requires LESS talking and more simple... Not so confindent with my Japanese... hehe...yeah. *sigh*

There might be some time between me leaving Tokyo for Osaka maybe a week but, I don't know if I can get to stay with a family I know, so I might be staying somewhere in Tokyo or I might be leaving that same day.

Its so uncertain, but I'd rather have a clue what to do, rather then not...

Jason
JapanesePod101.com Team Member

Postby Jason » November 7th, 2007 10:09 pm

I'm pretty sure this is right, but you probably want to confirm it as I've never actually been. I believe it's about 300 miles from Tokyo to Osaka. So by regular train it takes about 6 hours, 3 by shinkansen. Not sure how long by plain but certainly less. So which way is best really depends on if you want to get there faster or cheaper. Personally, I think if I had just spent 12+ hours on a plane to get to Tokyo, I don't think I'd want to spend even more time in a plane to get to Osaka.

If it were me, I think I'd splurg and take the shinkansen at least one way. Again though, you should probably listen more closely to those who've actually traveled to and in the country.
Jason
Manager of Mobile & Mac Applications

Get 40% OFF
Ha_chan
New in Town

Postby Ha_chan » November 7th, 2007 10:40 pm