Or sign up using Facebook

Avoiding romaji??

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

zico268_516676
New in Town

Avoiding romaji??

Postby zico268_516676 » May 27th, 2017 8:10 pm

Hi,

I am an absolute beginner in learning Japanese. Before I started I had obviously done some research as to how hard it is and what advise people who already speak it might have. And an overwhelming notion is that you should avoid romaji or not to relay on it, because it will make your head spin way down the line.

What I don't understand is, how do you then learn how the different Japanese characters sound like if you don't use romaji? Or am I missing something?

jim.schuler
Established Presence

Re: Avoiding romaji??

Postby jim.schuler » May 27th, 2017 8:45 pm

There are really four different sets of written characters you're dealing with:

1) Latin script/romaji
2) Hiragana
3) Katakana
4) Kanji

Except for the very, very early stage, you want to avoid the Latin script, and to do that you learn Hiragana. Hiragana and Katakana are syllabic alphabets: each symbol represents a sound, and will generally always represent that sound. It will take you one, maybe two, weeks of study to learn either. Hiragana is a necessity because not only is it used for the grammatical parts of a sentence, but it's also used for furigana, which is the tiny writing placed near Kanji characters that tell you how to pronounce them. Katakana is more a "learn it when you need/want to" type thing. You can get by for now without, just know that you will eventually be traipsing off to the web to look up a Katakana chart whenever you run into a foreign word imported into Japanese or someone wants to emphasis something (in that way Katakana is like the Japanese version of italics).