a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

using casual speech in forums/online..大丈夫かな

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

7daytrial
Been Around a Bit

using casual speech in forums/online..大丈夫かな

Postby 7daytrial » October 20th, 2007 7:01 pm

I was wondering if it's okay to use casual speech such as ore, da, kimi in online japanese forums/websites? It seems like most use casual/very casual and don't really completely write grammatical sentences (such as leaving particles out).

Is it okay to use casual speech without seeming rude?

markystar
Site Admin

Postby markystar » October 22nd, 2007 1:28 pm

i'm not an expert on this topic.

but, i think it all depends on who your talking to you and your relationship with them.

for example, if it's my own blog and that's my space, i figure i can make the rules. so casual. some people who comment don't know me, so they respond in polite or mix it up until they feel like i've accepted them. if i post on my friends' blogs, i use casual. but if it's a forum and i don't know anyone, i'll switch to formal. if it's my first time corresponding with a person, i use formal.

i think the rules are pretty much the same online as in a face-to-face encounter. if everyone's cool with each other, than you can use casual. if not, stick to the polite stuff - you won't annoy anyone (at least from a stylistic standpoint).

marky
ねぇ、ねぇ、私前にバンドキャンプでさ…

Get 40% OFF
jp101crew
Been Around a Bit

from native speaker's point of view on this.....

Postby jp101crew » October 23rd, 2007 3:45 am

It depends on who you are talking to.
In my case, i write up my blogs with sometimes formal Japanese but sometimes informal, cuz I don't care who would see my blogs.

And replying to comments or something like that, I still use casual way but responding to someone you don't know, higher status people or older than me...etc etc.... I will switch to formal Japanese no matter what.