Or sign up using Facebook

Looking for work in Tokyo

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

jdproulx
New in Town

Looking for work in Tokyo

Postby jdproulx » August 19th, 2008 11:12 pm

Hey everybody,

This is my first post on the site, but definitely won't be my last! My name is Josh, and I'm a business student at a Canadian University. I'm entering my third year, so I still have a little bit of time to think about my future before graduating.

My goal since entering university has been to learn Japanese; the language and the culture. I've taken up to the end of 202 and am about to enter 301 right now.

My plan was to work in Japan for a year after finishing my degree. However, this is where I'm at a loss. I want to work in Tokyo for sure, because of my degree in business and my love for the city. This unfortunately rules out the JET program.

I'm currently thinking about going on exchange via AIESEC, an international program. Before I commit to joining AIESEC, I was wondering if I could get any advice from japanesepod101 listeners!

My qualifications are as follows:

Business student, majoring in Finance with a minor in International Business
Consistent 3.8 GPA
Large amounts of leadership involvement
Large amounts of faculty involvement
Dean's List
Top 5% in the Faculty

Likely, one semester of applicable job experience in a finance firm (I've been offered a job for next summer)

So how about it? Does anybody have any suggestions for Finance-related jobs in Tokyo, and how I could go about applying for it?

Thank you very much!

skrba
Been Around a Bit

Postby skrba » October 1st, 2008 5:46 am

Hi Josh,

Your post is one month old but I haven't track the forum for a while so my message is maybe a bit late...