a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

How to Start

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

jmcdowell01428
New in Town

How to Start

Postby jmcdowell01428 » February 27th, 2010 11:33 pm

I have no prior experience with japanese but I would like to learn. How do I start, and how should I go about using this site to learn?

jkid
JapanesePod101.com Team Member

Postby jkid » February 28th, 2010 12:53 am

Hi,
Have a look at: http://www.japanesepod101.com/help-center/the-courses/

From that page:
If you are a true newbie, we recommend starting with Newbie Season 2 “Nihongo Dojo” supplemented by Beginner Season 1 for the fastest and most fun way to get started with Japanese! The Nihongo Dojo is a very structured curriculum and Beginner Season 1 takes a more casual approach based on repetition.

Good luck! :)
JapanesePod101.com - Forum Admin
Learn Japanese with FREE Daily Podcasts

http://www.japanesepod101.com
contactus@japanesepod101.com

Get 40% OFF
Javizy
Expert on Something

Postby Javizy » February 28th, 2010 12:55 am

First of all, you need to learn the basic scripts (hiragana and katakana), and find yourself a beginner's textbook that you can use in addition to the content on this site.

From there, it really depends on your aims. You'll need to focus your learning on your needs. If you're learning just out of interest, however, then you can plan a more long-term approach that will suit your learning style and ultimately help you gain fluency a lot quicker.

Kanji is the obstacle most people make a big deal out of, but it really depends on your approach. You need to know roughly between 2000-3000 eventually, but you can see their relative importance by looking at the statistics from a study of kanji used throughout wikipedia:

173 kanji cover 50%.
454 kanji cover 75%.
874 kanji cover 90%
1214 kanji cover 95%
2061 kanji cover 99%
2456 kanji cover 99.5%
3489 kanji cover 99.9%