a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

is anata wa rude?

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

Bemo
New in Town

is anata wa rude?

Postby Bemo » February 16th, 2007 12:00 am

I was chatting with some Japanese friends about learniing Japanese. They told me to use 'anata wa' is rude...well, not rude, but it is strange to use it.

However, I spoke to another Japanese friend on another occassion with whom I discussed this matter. They disagreed.

So has anyone heard this before? whats the story.

Javizy
Expert on Something

Postby Javizy » February 16th, 2007 12:05 am

I'm a noob, but 'anata' means 'you' (singular), and 'wa' is a particle used to mark the subject/topic. It'd be unusual to use it because the topic is often omitted in Japanese when it is obvious; where we'd say 'don't you like it?' in English, Japanese might say 'don't like it?'. Anata wa would usually mean 'you?' on its own, but could convey a number of things in a given context.

Get 40% OFF Forever Discount
Bueller_007
Expert on Something

Re: is anata wa rude?

Postby Bueller_007 » February 16th, 2007 12:05 am

Bemo wrote:I was chatting with some Japanese friends about learniing Japanese. They told me to use 'anata wa' is rude...well, not rude, but it is strange to use it.

However, I spoke to another Japanese friend on another occassion with whom I discussed this matter. They disagreed.

Anata is not normally used in conversation except by wives to husbands, etc, or in situations where it can't be avoided grammatically. The concept of "you" is generally clear from context or from keigo usage.

Anata is also used when addressing large groups of strangers in impersonal contexts such as TV commercials, etc.

IMO, it's not rude, but it's a tad familiar. Stick with using people's real names plus "san" or "sama" instead.

annie
Expert on Something

Postby annie » February 16th, 2007 12:08 am