a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

The best place to start on the site.

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

chaos965_503329
New in Town

The best place to start on the site.

Postby chaos965_503329 » December 21st, 2014 11:53 pm

I have been using the site for about a week now, and i'm wondering what the best place to start is. I'm in the absolute beginner lessons, but then I find myself swinging into the Katan Kana videos trying to understand written Japanese which in turn drives me back to the beginner lessons in order to gain more words. So from the people here, what do you think is the best place to start?

adelholtz_499460
Established Presence

Re: The best place to start on the site.

Postby adelholtz_499460 » December 22nd, 2014 8:41 am

Hi

Imo, if you are serious about learning Japanaese you hould learn Hiragana and Katakana
before starting any course or learning vocab.
You can use the Kantan Kana videos on this site. You can learn the vocab given there, or ignore it, doesn't matter.
Learning Hiragana and Katakana should take you somewhat from 1-6 weeks depending on how much time you can spare and how fast you can learn.
If you have that down start with the Absolute Beginner Series and from there follow the Nihongo Dojo Series. Find a very good Overview for this Series here: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=7235&p=39937&hilit=lesson+order#p39937

While you are still in the Absolute Beginner level you should stick to Absolute Beginner Level Courses, cause the rest can sometimes be overwhelming (the sole exception here would be Beginner Series 1, cause its about Newbie Season Level).
I recommend watching the Kanji Video Series with Hiroko and the Grammar Series Videos (they give you a good explanation of basic grammar and are very helpful for reviewing stuff)
Once you are a good way in the Beginner Level you can start to explore a bit more, and listen to Intermediate Level courses and so on.