Or sign up using Facebook

How to advance effectively through JapanesePod101 lessons

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

lehner.rom_500466
New in Town

How to advance effectively through JapanesePod101 lessons

Postby lehner.rom_500466 » July 10th, 2014 9:25 am

Hi minna san,

I just finished the absolute beginner season 1 series and wonder how to advance effectively. Japanesepod is said to be a fast approach to learn Japanese. But there are a lot of other series within the absolute beginner level, such as the newbie series, which would take months to cover if I took one lesson a day.

In general, do I need to cover all lessons, or when do I decide to change to a higher level?

mmmason8967
Expert on Something

Re: How to advance effectively through JapanesePod101 lesson

Postby mmmason8967 » July 10th, 2014 5:17 pm

This question comes up quite often, and I have a prepared response that will hopefully help. I'll post it as the next message.

マイケル

Get 40% OFF
mmmason8967
Expert on Something

Postby mmmason8967 » July 10th, 2014 5:19 pm

The lessons on JapanesePod101 do not follow an obvious sequence such as Lesson #1, Lesson #2, and so on. New students often find it difficult to work out where they should start. Hopefully this short summary will remove some of the confusion.

Overview
JapanesePod101 is based around audio lessons that generally last around ten to fifteen minutes. Lessons are grouped into seasons (explained below) and are categorised by Level (also explained below).

Each lesson has a variety of supporting materials including Lesson Notes and Lesson Notes Lite. These PDF files contain exactly the same information: use Lesson Notes Lite if your PDF reader won't display Lesson Notes correctly.

Levels
Lessons are categorised using four levels: Absolute Beginner, Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced.