a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

気持ち - 気分 - 感じ: help

Moderators: Moderator Team, Admin Team

Naguib
Been Around a Bit

気持ち - 気分 - 感じ: help

Postby Naguib » March 3rd, 2010 9:17 am

Maybe this is a dumb/obvious question, but I'm a bit of a noob so humor me. These three words often come up when I watch TV or study, and they all roughly mean "feeling" or "mood" in the contexts I've seen, but I feel that they must have different connotations and are used in different situations. So if someone could break it down for me I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks all,
hannah

jazzbeans
Established Presence

Postby jazzbeans » March 3rd, 2010 12:06 pm

After reading this, I decided to look it up myself and this is the impression I got (although I could be wrong):

気分 = (feel) refers to feelings of the body & mind or atmosphere/mood of the situation.
気持ち = (mood) refers to a mood/impression, used in abstract phrases. More relating to emotions.
感じ = (sense) to feel something/get an impression from anything/a physical senstation, etc.

Example sentences:

気分:
だらけた気分だ = Feel lazy.
ちょっとぜいたくをさせてもらっているような気分です = I feel like I'm being spoiled a bit.
娘の結婚式に2万ドルもかかってしまい、自殺したい気分だった = After $20,000 for my daughter's wedding I was ready to shoot myself.

気持ち:
気持ちが通じ合わない = Emotionally distant.
あなたの気持ちはよく分かるわ = I know exactly how you are feeling.
できないことは何もないという気持ち = A state of mind in which nothing is impossible.

感じ:
うずく感じ = a tingling feeling/sensation.
デトロイトから30マイル北に行ったところって感じね = I'd say we're thirty miles north of Detroit.
何かがおかしい正しくないというどうしても消えない感じ = Nagging sense of something not quite right.

---------